D-Backs' Lovullo named NL Manager of the Year

Arizona Diamondbacks skipper Torey Lovullo was named NL Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, beating out Bud Black of the Colorado Rockies, and the Los Angeles Dodgers' Dave Roberts.

Lovullo won in his first season as a major-league manager, marking the fourth straight year a rookie skipper earned the award, according to MLB.com.

Manager Team 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Torey Lovullo D-Backs 18 5 6 111
Dave Roberts Dodgers 5 8 6 55
Bud Black Rockies 3 8 6 43

Lovullo received a whopping 18 first-place votes (111 points), followed by Roberts with five (55 total) and Black with three (43 total).

He helped guide the Diamondbacks to a winning season and postseason appearance for the first time since 2011, finishing with 93 wins, 24 more than 2016.

Copyright © 2017 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.